top of page

'Coalway Early Years' is a registered charity and the running of our successful setting would not be possible without the voluntary help and support of our management committee made up of parents/carers and other volunteers from the community who, together with the Managers, make the major decisions about how the setting is run.  Committee members also act as trustees for the setting.


At 'Coalway Early Years' we employ staff who oversee the operational management, finance and administration for the playgroup, however it is the responsibility of the committee to ensure that the setting complies with all of our constitutional, legal and financial obligations and that all major decisions which affect our setting are made effectively and represent all parties fairly.  Their role is also to support fundraising, and to encourage parental

involvement in the running of the setting.


Committee meetings are held at least 3 times annually.  We follow an agenda that generally includes a report from the Chair, Manager and Finance Officer (on behalf of the Treasurer) and allows for discussion about any other matters arising.  Any major changes that affect the setting are voted upon as part of this process. Exact days and times for meetings are arranged to suit the majority.

An Annual General Meeting (AGM) is held annually,  usually around November.  All parents are welcome and encouraged to attend.  At the AGM the annual accounts are presented and the Manager, Chair and Treasurer present an annual report.  All existing committee members are required to stand down and by vote  a new committee is elected.  Existing members have the option to reapply for a role for the coming year.  

2023/24 committee members;

Chairperson - Kate Fortet

Secretary - Jemima Phelps

Treasurer - Jessica Heath

Laura Byett

Patricia Byett

Amy Phelps

Leigh Davis

Jessica Heath

All Members of the Management Committee are registered with Ofsted and have been checked through the Disclosure and Barring Service.   


If you are interested in joining our committee please contact us or pop into the office or click below to read our "new committee member" letter 


bottom of page